Antelope Valley Thespians
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Antelope Valley Thespians

Independant discussion board for the actors, staff, crew, and fans of theater and the arts in the greater Antelope Valley, California.

HomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Memorization Techniques

Go down 
+2
keltroncybo
James Jay
6 posters
AuthorMessage
James Jay
James Jay

Number of posts : 137
Registration date : 2008-01-18

Memorization Techniques Empty
PostSubject: Memorization Techniques   Memorization Techniques Icon_minitimeTue Feb 19, 2008 10:28 am

I need some advice from you seasoned stage actors. I'm a newbie to stage acting (my magician skills are totally different) and I'm having difficulty memorizing two sonnets for this upcoming production. Last time I needed to memorize, I recorded myself saying the lines, and that helped, but it's not helping this time for some reason. Any suggestions?
Back to top Go down
http://www.myspace.com/the_magic_of_james_jay
keltroncybo
keltroncybo

Number of posts : 92
Registration date : 2008-01-28

PostSubject: Re: Memorization Techniques   Memorization Techniques Icon_minitimeTue Feb 19, 2008 11:42 am

I find that writing them helps....writing writing writing....eventually you should be able to test yourself by finding out how much you can write without looking.
Back to top Go down
Tamitha
Neophyte
Neophyte

Number of posts : 38
Registration date : 2008-01-19

PostSubject: Re: Memorization Techniques   Memorization Techniques Icon_minitimeTue Feb 19, 2008 2:47 pm

Jay

When I was with the Shakespeare group in Shreveport, we had several techniques that we used. (Mainly because it was like a different language. lol) But, I like the following:

Write the first letter of each word in a line, exactly the way it appears on the paper you've been reading. (This is important because it has to do with seeing it in your mind's eye.)

Shall I compare thee to a summer's day?