Antelope Valley Thespians

Independant discussion board for the actors, staff, crew, and fans of theater and the arts in the greater Antelope Valley, California.

HomeFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Share | 

Research Resources Needed

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Kara
Amateur Thespian
Amateur Thespian

Number of posts : 76
Registration date : 2008-01-18

PostSubject: Research Resources Needed   Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:33 pm

Help! I'm seeking some help from those of you who actually do watch movies and television (those of you who know me personally know that I don't , shamefully) . I'm looking for some research references...

Recently, I was cast to play the Dark Lady of Shakespeare's Sonnets, and, literally, I will play her as...a dark lady. Or at least considerably darker than I naturally am (fair skin, green eyes, reddish-brown hair). I am a professional makeup artist by trade, but I've yet to encounter the challenge of a full-on race change. Therefore, I'm looking for references to use as research guides. As this not a comedic role, meaning that it's supposed to be convincing that I'm playing a Moor, it's imperative that I pull this off in a way that is not in any way offensive to the audience or embarassing to me as an actor, nor should it reflect poorly for the theatre for which I'm performing. In short, I feel that there is a lot at stake if I don't do my homework here.

I've considered the makeup design for Angelina Jolie recently in "A Mighty Heart", though I didn't see the film. Did anyone? Any thoughts on the makeup?

Any other makeup designs recommended?

I'm considering doing some tests and posting photos of them here in this forum for some feedback. Anyone interested in seeing the transformation from Modern White Chick to Elizabethan Dark Lady?

Any input would be so appreciated. Thanks!

Back to top Go down
View user profile
QuantumCowboy
Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 211

PostSubject: Re: Research Resources Needed   Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:05 pm